Role and missions

Creation of the Haute Maurienne Vanoise Tourist Office

On January 1, 2017, the former intercommunities of "Terra Modana" and "Haute Maurienne Vanoise" merged. This is how the new Community of Communes "Haute Maurienne Vanoise" was born.
The CCHMV is endowed with the competence of Tourism then it decides to delegate this competence. For this, the CCHMV institutes on June 1, 2017 a single intercommunal Office of Tourism. It is for this purpose that a Local Public Company (SPL), the SPL Haute Maurienne Vanoise Tourisme was created.
The Haute Maurienne Vanoise Tourist Office is therefore the result of a decision by the Community of Municipalities, and works within the framework of a Public Service Delegation (DSP) defined by the CCHMV. That said, the Tourist Office is a private company separate from the Community of Communes.
The Haute Maurienne Vanoise Tourist Office is one of the largest Tourist Offices in France. About fifty permanent staff and 11 reception offices are scattered throughout the resorts and villages.
To visit or contact the Haute Maurienne Vanoise Tourist Office click here.

The missions of the Tourist Office

In accordance with the provisions of Article L. 133-3 of the Tourism Code, a public service contract defines its missions and objectives.

Main missions

- The Haute Maurienne Vanoise Tourist Office draws up and implements local tourism policy as well as local tourism development programs.
- It coordinates the territory's tourism stakeholders.
- The Tourist Office is responsible for promoting and communicating the destination as well as organizing cultural and sporting tourism events.
- It markets tourism services and products, including the management of reservation centers and platforms.
- Finally, the Tourist Office manages the territory's tourism information and monitors tourism.

The territory of Haute Maurienne Vanoise

6 mountain resorts : Valfréjus, La Norma, Aussois, Val Cenis, Bessans and Bonneval sur Arc.

10 villages (some of which are also mountain resorts): Saint-André, Le Freney, Fourneaux, Modane (support commune of the Valfréjus resort), Villarodin-Bourget (support commune of the La Norma resort), Avrieux (support commune of the La Norma resort), Aussois (resort), Val Cenis (resort and "new town" created in 2017 which includes 5 villages: Bramans, Sollières-Sardières, Termignon, Lanslebourg, Lanslevillard), Bessans (resort) and Bonneval sur Arc (resort).

To learn more about the population, demographics, economy... in Haute Maurienne Vanoise, consult the INSEE file (2019 data).